"All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us." —J. R. R. Tolkien

Sunday, April 24, 2011

GUARDIANS OF THE HIDDEN SCEPTER Interview and Giveaway!




Happy Monday! Today I'm thrilled to be part of a blog tour for Frank L. Cole and his amazing new middle grade fantasy. There's a book giveaway going on, so make sure to follow and leave a comment to win!

GUARDIANS OF THE HIDDEN SCEPTER by Frank L. Cole (Cedar Fort, March 8, 2011)


I started reading GUARDIANS having no idea really what to expect. I'm not big on reading jacket copy, but the cover drew me in (yes, I admit, I do judge a book by its cover). And seriously, once I started reading, I was thrilled. I felt like I tucked myself into a cozy blanket and sank back into a world I love. GUARDIANS OF THE HIDDEN SCEPTER reminded me how much fun middle grade fantasy can be. It had adventure and age-old secrets and mysteries and double-crossers and archaeology and wait...a huge treasure to be found! And there were consequences. And real things happening.

Okay, in short, it reminded me a ton of my Forgotten Worlds trilogy, and seeing as how I love my own books, you can see why I loved GUARDIANS. I highly recommend this one for fans of Harry Potter and Percy Jackson books, and of course fans of my books!

Frank was kind enough to stop by and answer a few questions for us here on ROOTS IN MYTH!

*****

PJH: If the apocalypse came, would you still find a way to write? If yes, then how and why?

FC: Oh definitely. I mean if I’m still alive and I have somewhat of an ability to write and tell a story, I’ll probably have a fairly captive audience. Plus, think of all the material for stories! I’m guessing finding something to write on won’t be the issue, but finding a writing utensil will. Cockroaches are supposed to be able to survive almost anything. I’ll use them.


PJH: You can go back in time and talk to anyone in history. Who would it be and why?

FC: My great-great Grandpa Rolph. Allegedly, he saw some fiend from the underworld over a hundred years ago and took that belief to his grave. Most of the people and my relatives in the town believed him and there’s even mention of it in a published book. I’m pretty sure he’d fallen and hit his head, but still. The story had to be stupendous!

(PJH: Love this answer!)


PJH: Favorite Wonder of the Ancient World? Why?

FC: Great Pyramid of Giza of course! Why? It’s still in existence. That shows heart and determination.



PJH: What are five things you collect?

FC: I collect:

1. Legos (in various forms and sets)

2. Books (so many books!)

3. Music on my IPod

4. Silly putty (I have a giant ball of at least 20 packs… way cool and pointless)

5. Rejection Letters (so that I can weep over them.)



PJH: Mummy vs. Bigfoot... Who would win and why?

FC: Bigfoot would unravel the Mummy. For starters, I don’t think ole’ Sasquatch would mess around and from what I’ve seen, the Mummy’s a little slow and confused. And have you seen Bigfoot lately? No? Well, I have and he’s been working out.


PJH: Thanks, Frank!
*****

Huge thank you to the publisher, Cedar Fort Books, for providing the book for giveaway!

For your chance to win this book, all you need to do is:

1) Follow this blog
2) Comment on this blog post

For extra entries:

1) Blog about this contest and leave a comment telling me
2) Tweet about this contest and leave a comment telling me
3) Also, if you've never won one of my contests, please tell me in the comments, and you'll get an extra entry!

And make sure you leave me a way to get in contact with you when you win!

The contest will run through midnight on Friday, May 6, 2011!

37 comments:

Carina Olsen said...

I want this! :D I follow you, and I have never won from you before :)
- Lots of love from Carina. <3
~ carina-olsen@hotmail.com

Birgit said...

Would love to read this! And I too judge books by their covers ;-) !!

Following on GFC.

Never won here before.

danaan at gmx dot at

xlacrimax said...

Count me in!
GFC follower as xlacrimax
Never won here before

xlacrimax[at]gmail.com

Diana said...

Thanks for the giveaway!!!
GFC follower as Diana
Never won here before.

artgiote at gmail dot com

Ricki said...

This looks like a fun read!
I am an GFC follower and have not yet won from your blog.
rickimc[at]aol[dot]com

Meghan Kirkland said...

This sounds so cool!! I always judge books by their covers . . . and then by their descriptions on the back :) I follow you and have never won before.

kirkyland@gmail.com

Vidisha said...

GFC follower

vidishamun@gmail.com

Jessica Lee Anderson said...

Sounds like a fun book!

D.A. said...

This does sound like a great adventure book. I would love to read it! I follow your blog on email.
dawhittemore22 at gmail dot com

Damla (Sweepstake Lover) said...

I follow your blog. Thank you so much for the giveaway.

Blogged: http://sweepstakelover.blogspot.com/2011/04/guardians-of-hidden-scepter-giveaway.html

Tweeted: http://twitter.com/sweepstakelover/status/62591456610754561

I haven't won from your blog yet.

annabell_lee_dk (at) yahoo.com

Tore said...

I am a follower and email subscriber. Please enter me in contest. Tore923@aol.com

Lolawid said...

This looks like a fun book! I was in the audience when Frank was on a local news show, talking about his Hashbrown books. What a creative guy!

widsfam7 @ digis dot net

Meredith said...

GFC follower

I have a son who likes archaeology, and would probably enjoy this.

meredithfl at gmail dot com

Natalie Aguirre said...

Great interview. Funny that Frank collects silly putty.

I'd love to win. It sounds like an awesome middle grade book. I'm a follower and never won.

rmarma2@yahoo.com

Tabathia said...

gfc follower (tabathia)
+1 never won a contest here
tbarrettno1 at gmail dot com

Tabathia said...

tweet
http://twitter.com/#!/ChelleB36/status/62657785199996928
tbarrettno1 at gmail dot com

TheGirlOnFire said...

Thanks for the giveaway!

gfc follower

thegirlonfire27 at gmail dot com

Kulsuma said...

Thanks for the giveaway!
+1 Have never won before.
k_anon[at]hotmail[dot]co[dot]uk
GFC follower.

faefever25 said...

I really want this lol.

Following on email & GFC (Karen Wapinski)

faefever25 at hotmail dot com

Diana D said...

I am a GFC follower. Thanks for the wonderful giveaway

dianad8008 AT gmail DOT com

Miriam Forster said...

Yay books!

Beverly said...

I would love to win this! Please enter me!
bevsharp@desch.org

PinkStuff28 said...

Count me in !
GFC follower
raluk.93 (at) gmail (dot) com

PinkStuff28 said...

tweeted : http://twitter.com/#!/raluk15/status/64671845214990336

raluk.93 (at) gmail (dot) com

Mare/TommyGirl said...

This sounds great! I'd love the chance to win.

Follower on GFC with this account (TommyGirl)

*I've never won anything here before

Mare
tommygirl828 (at) gmail (dot) com

Sakira said...

This looks like a really great book. Count me in!

Follow as Sakira, commenting :)

Blogged
http://imaginaryreads.blogspot.com/2011/05/rules-of-attraction.html

Tweeted
http://twitter.com/#!/SummersKris/status/64865225450598400

I've never won one of your contests!


Thanks for the giveaway opportunity!
Kris
elfdrop AT gmail DOT com

Aleetha said...

I am GFC follower

I never won any contest of yours

aleetha.ally at gmail dot com

Krystal said...

http://twitter.com/#!/Icecream1891 I tweeted! I need a pity vote too because I've never won any contests, definitely not yours ;) I am a GFC follower: Krystal Larson and commented on this post. http://livetoread-krystal.blogspot.com/2011/05/giveaway_02.html I also blogged, take a look at my blog too, please!

Christie said...

Following on GFC (Christie)

Have never won from you before :( lol

Christie
swaggirl01 at gmail dot com

Coreena McBurnie said...

Thanks for the contest. I am a follower and have never won before. Sounds like a great book - fun interview.

Mary Ellen said...

Thank you for the chance to win!
I follow on GFC - Mary Ellen Thompson
I follow on Twitter - MaryEllenT
I've never won one of your contests before
methom@earthlink.net

Breanne said...

I follow and I'd love to read this!

I've never won one of your contests.

bmweida at yahoo dot com

Lora1967 said...

I follow and Please enter me in your contest
chaarmedone1512(at)aol(dot)com

Lora1967 said...

I have never won any of your contests
chaarmedone1512(at)aol(dot)com

Lora1967 said...

I twittered your contest
http://twitter.com/Lora1967/status/66574848549330944

chaarmedone1512(at)aol(dot)com

Connie Black said...

GFC follower
epblack at zoominternet dot net

AEKZ2 said...

Sounds like a fun read.
I've never won here before.

annettekz2@yahoo.com