"All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us." —J. R. R. Tolkien

Tuesday, June 07, 2011

THE FOX INHERITANCE by Mary Pearson





The best thing about getting ARCs at library conferences is picking up a gem and having no idea you were doing it at the time. You feel like you've won the book lottery. And it's even better when the book rocks. That's how I felt a few years ago when I picked up THE ADORATION OF JENNA FOX by Mary Pearson (Henry Holt, 2008). The book was a perfect mix of science fiction (light sci-fi, mind you), character development and mystery.

The next best thing about getting ARCs at library conferences is going with a specific book in mind you are really looking forward to and getting it. Enter...

THE FOX INHERITANCE (The Jenna Fox Chronicles) by Mary Pearson (Henry Holt, August 30, 2011)


First, I was psyched when I saw there would be a sequel to JENNA FOX. I admit I was a bit dubious at first that the sequel would not live up to the level set by the first book. So let me get that out of the way right off the bat. THE FOX INHERITANCE I dare say is better that the first book. I personally enjoyed it more.

I think what makes this sequel work so well is how
  1. It has new characters that we love (and they are actually the main characters of the story)
  2. It is set so far in the future that what happened in the past is not hardly relevant. It is a standalone story and works perfectly as one.
  3. Well-thought-out World Building. I love this world 200+ years in the future.

THE FOX INHERITANCE is highly recommended for fans of THE INHERITANCE OF JENNA FOX and I believe would even work well for those who have not read the first book.

And for catch up, here is the book trailer for THE ADORATION OF JENNA FOX.



Source of book: From publisher at TLA

9 comments:

Jules (The Great, The Good and The Bad) said...

This is a series that I am off to have a look at! :)

Kayeleen Hamblin said...

Loved the first book. I'm excited that there is a sequel!

Regina said...

I need to check this out!

Tere Kirkland said...

Can't wait for this one! Thanks for the reminder!

PJ Hoover said...

You guys will really love the book. It was totally worth reading!

Beth S. said...

I cannot WAIT to read this sequel!

PJ Hoover said...

That's exactly how I felt, Beth!

Elizabeth Mueller said...

I know what you mean about picking up an ARC from a writers conference. *Sigh* I feel the same with free books by authorly pals! :D


Btw, I'm holding an MC Blogfest in Jeannie's honor! Drop by and join us, please! <3

♥.•*¨Elizabeth¨*•.♥
Can Alex save Winter from the darkness that hunts her?
YA Paranormal Romance, Darkspell coming fall of 2011!

PJ Hoover said...

It's like the ARC lottery! Love that, Elizabeth! Thanks for visiting :)