"All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us." —J. R. R. Tolkien

Tuesday, February 05, 2013

What I'm Reading: CITY OF A THOUSAND DOLLS by Miriam Forster

Guys, I have been wanted to read this book ever since I first met Miriam! And it's so funny because a while back I had a chance to read the first ten or twenty pages, and it stuck with me until now. I was elated when Miriam announced her book deal news!

CITY OF A THOUSAND DOLLS by Miriam Forster (February 5, 2013, HarperTeen)



Here are Five Things I have to Say About CITY OF A THOUSAND DOLLS:

1) I have to start off by saying that Miriam is a friend. That totally has nothing to do with my opinion of the book! I would have wanted to read this regardless. It is lovely, just lovely!

2) Can we just talk about the cover for a second? This is epic! And so unique! It draws the reader completely in, and I think teens, both fans of epic fantasy and not will agree.

3) Talking cats! Well, kind of. I mean, they talk in Nisha's mind telepathically. And the thing about these cats is that they're real characters in the story. We care about them and we love how protective they are of Nisha!

4) The world created by Forster is deep and rich and real. It's not all happy sunshine and roses. There are true hardships and realities in this world. Realities we don't want to see happen to our main character. And knowing these are dangers and possibilities makes it all the more fully developed.

5) CITY OF A THOUSAND DOLLS is right up the alley of those interested in rich fantasy worlds. It should completely appeal to readers who loved GRAVE MERCY, SHADOW AND BONE, and GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS. Highly recommended for (mostly) girls, 6th grade and up!


Source of book: From publisher by request




*****

About the book:

The girl with no past, and no future, may be the only one who can save their lives.

Nisha was abandoned at the gates of the City of a Thousand Dolls when she was just a little girl. Now sixteen, she lives on the grounds of the isolated estate, where orphan girls apprentice as musicians, healers, courtesans, and, if the rumors are true, assassins. She makes her way as Matron's errand girl, her closest companions the mysterious cats that trail her shadow. Only when she begins a forbidden flirtation with the city's handsome young courier does she let herself imagine a life outside the walls. Until one by one, girls around her start to die.

Before she becomes the next victim, Nisha decides to uncover the secrets that surround the girls' deaths. But by getting involved, Nisha jeopardizes not only her own future in the City of a Thousand Dolls—but also her life.

6 comments:

Natalie Aguirre said...

So agree with you, PJ. This is awesome! So excited for Miriam. I interviewed her yesterday and am giving away an ARC on my blog.

Matthew MacNish said...

The cover makes me think of the oracle from the Neverending Story.

Cynthia Leitich Smith said...

Great minds! You might enjoy today's interview with Miriam at Cynsations: http://cynthialeitichsmith.blogspot.com/2013/02/new-voice-miriam-forster-on-city-of.html

PJ Hoover said...

Hey Natalie! So glad you read and interviewed Miriam! She is made of awesome :)

LOL, Matt! Yes, it very much does!

Totally great minds, Cyn! Will head over and read now!

Angela Brown said...

I do love that cover. I loved Grave Mercy so this book will certainly be one to add to my e-library.

PJ Hoover said...

Very cool, Angela! Grave Mercy was a great read, wasn't it?